Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize 2017


This year’s shortlist includes eight books from an outstanding entry of 127 titles in translations from 26 different languages.

Once again we have impressive submissions from both larger and smaller publishing houses: Faber & Faber, Pushkin Press, Comma Press, Angel Classics, MacLehose Press, Penguin Random House, Oneworld, and Bloomsbury. The shortlist contains translations from six languages.

The winner will be announced at the prizegiving and dinner at St Anne’s College, Oxford on Saturday 3 June. This will be the crowning event of Oxford Translation Day, which boasts a varied programme of talks, workshops and readings. Details are available here.

This year’s judges of the Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize are the academics and writers Eleni Philippou, Adriana X. Jacobs, Sian Gronlie, and Patrick McGuinness (Chair).

The 2017 shortlist is:

Ben Faccini for Lydie Salvayre’s Cry, Mother Spain (MacLehose)

Philip Ó Ceallaigh for Mihail Sebastian’s For Two Thousand Years (Penguin Classics)

Natasha Wimmer for Álvaro Enrigue’s Sudden Death (Harvill Secker)

Frank Perry for Lina Wolff’s Bret Easton Ellis and The Other Dogs (And Other Stories)

Lisa Dillman for Yuri Herrera’s The Transmigration of Bodies (And Other Stories)

Lisa C. Hayden for Vadim Levental’s Masha Regina (Oneworld)

Rawley Grau for Dušan Šarotar’s Panorama (Peter Owen World Series/ Istros Books)

Arthur Goldhammer for Stéphane Heuet’s adaptation of Marcel Proust’s In Search of Lost Time: Swann’s Way (Gallic)

The Oxford–Weidenfeld Prize is for book-length literary translations into English from any living European language. It aims to honour the craft of translation, and to recognise its cultural importance.  It is funded by Lord Weidenfeld and by New College, The Queen’s College and St Anne’s College, Oxford. Click here for further details.


Comparative Criticism and Translation